Week 6: Discovery bottles

28 Feb

Yesterday we made some discovery bottles to add to our collection (I’ve posted a picture of the ones I have made previously, at the end of this post).

BlogIMG_5829

Here were the supplies we used, after getting our inspiration from the blogs in Tuesday’s blog post.

Also check out this post at Modern Parents Messy Kids.

BlogIMG_5843

Here is Princess Peanut exploring with the first bottle (I initially did one bottle at a time). And as I thought, it went straight in to the mouth! :-)

BlogIMG_5846

Her latest accessory is the pink soccer ball and it must go places with her. So here she is doing her new knee walk, holding her soccer ball and trying to pick up the bottle. Funny girl!

BlogIMG_5847

This is the second bottle – filled with rice and pom poms. She liked the sound of this one and gave it a shake straight away!

BlogIMG_5863

You can just see the bottle filled with coloured water and baby oil on the left – she wasn’t interested in that one. I thought she might have liked to see the blobs, but it just didn’t take her fancy. She was having a bit of fun here trying to beat me to picking up the bottles.

BlogIMG_5872

After she lost interest I thought I would get all the bottles together to take a photo. This gave Princess Peanut an idea to start picking up the bottles and moving them.

BlogIMG_5874

That turned in to even more fun when Princess Peanut went into destruct-o mode and started knocking them all down. That gave us some more fun – I would line them up and she would work as fast as she could knocking them down!

Princess Peanut then thought it was a good game to bring me over one bottle at a time to shake. She played this for quite awhile (and again today)

BlogIMG_5880

So here are the bottles I made for this week’s challenge.

To the left is a bottle with water, purple food colouring and baby oil. I really like this one. It separates when you shake it and then slowly the oil joins together up the top. I think it’s cool – Princess Peanut wasn’t so interested.

In the middle is a bottle with water, food colouring (blue and green) and a couple of drops of dishwashing liquid. I had to let out a bit of water in this one as when it foams up it got too full. When you shake this one you can see the colour travel down the foam – cool!

On the right is a bottle with vegetable oil, water and food colouring (pink, even though it looks orange!).

BlogIMG_5834

This bottle had to be a bit of a science experiment. I had added plain water first and then some different coloured glitters, which changed the colour of the water to purple (obviously some dye leakage there). I added in some glycerin to slow the glitter down, which worked well. EXCEPT as you can see a lot of the glitter clumped together at the top!

BlogIMG_5884

On the left is the bottle with water, coloured glitters and a bit of glycerin after I put a drop of dishwashing liquid in it. It now foams up a bit, but at least it doesn’t clump the glitter together.

On the right is a bottle filled with plain rice and coloured pom poms. I am hoping that as Princess Peanut gets older she will begin to name the colours and it can be like a treasure hunt.

BlogIMG_5883

These are the discovery bottle I had previously made.

On the left is a bottle filled with Christmas tinsel. Princess Peanut loved this one for ages. It was light enough for her to hold and carry around when she was on the move and it caught her eye too.

The bottle in the middle is filled with rice and sequins. We used to take this one out with us as Princess Peanut enjoyed the noise it made when she shook it and also the prettiness of the sequins to catch her eye.

On the right the bottle is filled with a chain of Christmas beads. She loves to shake this one as it makes a nice, loud sound!

Summary/ Verdict: I’m a fan!! I love these bottles. It has been fun thinking of different things that will fit inside the bottles that suit a different purpose (visual or auditory). Princess Peanut is a fan too, she got them out herself today to have another play with – bringing them to me to shake, she shook some herself and also, of course, mouthed them!

Extensions/ Adaptions: I can’t wait to make some more (just have to drink a few more drinks ;-) )

The next ones I would like to make are:

  • A marble in water with glycerin
  • Shredded paper and farm animals
  • Shredded cellophane
  • A bottle filled with sparkly pom poms (especially different colours and sizes too)

That should keep us busy for awhile. I am also going to double up and make some more of this week’s bottles to take to playgroup.

One Response to “Week 6: Discovery bottles”

  1. Victoria May 25, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    Such a great sensory activity!

Leave a Reply

Bellini Food Smart

**Money Saving Ideas**

Princess Peanut and Teacher Mumma

52 weeks of Projects from Pinterest

Philisapher

I write because I must; it is my everything, but as my soul creates music is my vehicle.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 237 other followers

